"Robertstown to Burra Bitumen Road Opening"

"Official Opening of the "Worlds End Highway"


On the Friday afternoon, the 19th July 2002, marked the occasion of the Official opening of the fully sealed road from Robertstown to Burra.

About 70 invited guests and interested local persons joined the Regional Council of Goyder at the unveiling of a cairn by the Hon. Bob Sneath M.L.C. to mark the opening of the road.

Covering a distance of approximately 29 kilometres and completed at a cost of just under $4 million, which was carried out by the Regional Council of Goyder staff members under the direction of Mr. Peter Boaden - Director of Operations and Mr. Myles Schutz - Overseer.


roadopen-plaque.JPG (186270 bytes)

The plaque on the cairn to acknowledge the opening


Mr. Denis Keller, Chairman of the Regional Council of Goyder and a Robertstown Ward representative, thanked the immediate past Minister of Transport, Ms Diana Laidlaw, for her input into the project.

He also paid tribute to the Council Director & Staff for their excellent work, sometimes under very trying conditions and the Office Staff for their assistance where required.  


roadopen-cairn.JPG (184840 bytes)

The cairn, which is located at the North Eastern entrance to the town.


Before performing the opening and unveiling of the cairn, the Hon. Bob Sneath M.L.C., representing the current Minister of Transport, offered his congratulations to all those who were involved with the project for such an excellent road and how it will be another vital link between the South and the North.

roadopen-townentrance.JPG (191686 bytes)

A view of the cairn as you enter Robertstown from Burra


The local Federal Member for Grey, Mr. Barry Wakelin, was in attendance and also offered his congratulations for the work that was done.

After the official proceedings had completed, everyone adjourned to the Peace Hall for a "cuppa", where in a less official atmosphere the praises continued.


Below is a list of the Works Council Staff who worked on the project:


Peter Boaden Myles Schutz Gordon Wooton Leon Booth
Wayne Schutz Roy O'Connor Adrian Redemski Roy Regnier
Steven Launer Corey Launer Phil Freeman  


Community Events


These pages best viewed at 800x600 and high-colour, using Internet Explorer 4.01 SP1 and above or Netscape 4.06 and above.
Last modified: May 13, 2017
Copyright 2002


Index Page